All-Time NYS Coaching Victories List

Blaine In Elite Company….Section 9 Very Well Represented!!!

Glen Irving from the NYS Sportswriters Association has compiled a list of the all-time winning high school wrestling coaches in New York State history.  This project is still a work-in-progress so if there are any mistakes or omissions, please email me at and I will forward the information to Glen.  Enjoy!

Coach                            Schools/Sections                                            Wins
Joe Bena                           NFA-9, Niskayuna-2, Duanesburg-2                        625
John Grillo                      Pavilion-5, Holley-5                                                        584
Bob Coppola                   Central Square-3                                                              521
Mike Connors                 Fulton-3                                                                              510
Wayne Ferguson                 Beaver River-3                                                                         510
George Dlugoloski        Chaminade – CHSAA                                                     509
Neal Aubel                            Lowville-3                                                                                 465
Lou Giani                              Huntington-11                                                                          436
Jim McCloe                          Waverly-4                                                                                  435
Jack LaBombard           Queensbury-2, Schuylerville-2, LG Hadley-2        426
Frank Sorochinsky             Union Endicott-4                                                                      419
Mike Poplaski                      Salem-2                                                                                       417
Joe Amuso                           Fox Lane – 1                                                                               406
Don Blaine                      Cornwall – 9                                                                        405
Anthony Policare          Vestal – 4                                                                             401
                                                    active coaches in bold

Other Active Section 9 Coaches With 250+ Victories
Jeff Cuilty                           Ardsley-1, NFA-9, Wallkill-9                                                     346
Kevin Gallagher                Middletown-9, Oxford-4, Minisink Valley-9                          289
Steve Fischbein                 Valley Central-9, Monroe Woodbury-9                                   276
Lou Chartrand                   Onteora-9                                                                                      274     

Click here for a printable version of the complete list.                     

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *