Eldred Grad Curreri NCWA National Champ!!!

Congratulations to Eldred graduate Noah Curreri for taking home the 174 pound title at the NCWA National Championships in Allen, TX on Sunday.  Curreri, a freshman at Queens University, was the #1 seed and went 6-0 at the tournament including 3 pins and a major decision. Queens University finished 5th out of 79 competing teams. Congratulations Noah!!!!

Friends of Section 9 Banquet of Champions

The Friends of Section 9 hosted their 17th Annual Banquet of Champions of Sunday at Kuhl’s Highland House in Middletown. Plaques were given out to the top 4 D1 and the top 2 D2 place winners from this year’s Section 9 Championship Tournaments.  Several special recognition awards were also handed out to honor those who have had exceptional seasons or have made special contributions to the sport of wrestling.  Let’s take a look at our special award winners…

Fan of the Year – Shawn Houck (Rondout Valley)
Parent of the Year – Cathi Greiner (Minisink Valley)
Modified Coach of the Year –  Tim Noteboom (Middletown)
FS9 Ref of the Year – Glen DeJong
Orange/Sullivan Officials Sportsmanship – Greg Fischer (NFA)
“Come-Back” of the Year – Luke Jones (Eldred)
FS9 Most Courageous – James Faison (Wallkill)
Scorekeeper of the Year – Ashland Hubbard (Wallkill)
Scorekeeper of the Year – Carlee Sherman (Pine Bush)
Scorekeeper of the Year – Amanda Bittles (NFA)
Special Recognition Award – Mia Macaluso (Minisink Valley)
Special Recognition Award – Grace Pauls (Minisink Valley)
FS9 Person of the Year – Fred Perna (Wallkill)
Most Improved Team of the Year – Port Jervis
Special Recognition Award – Curt Natalizio
Assistant Coach of the Year – John Foley (Port Jervis)
Assistant Coach of the Year – Corey Ferguson (Port Jervis)
FS9 Coach of the Year – Eric Hartmann (Port Jervis)
Special Recognition 500th Career Win – Don Blaine (Cornwall)
Frank Tschan Team of the Year – Minisink Valley
Mark Faller Coach of the Year – Kevin Gallagher (Minisink)
John Bell Lifetime Achievement – Lou Chartrand (Onteora)
Troy Bouzakis Wrestler of the Year – Dillon Ross (Onteora)
Pat D’Aliso Scholarship – Greg Fischer (NFA)
DeCapua Scholarship – Dillon Ross (Onteora)
DeCapua Scholarship – Greg Fischer (NFA)
DeCapua Scholarship – Dylan Earl (Monroe Woodbury)
DeCapua Scholarship – Ian Houck (Rondout Valley)
DeCapua Scholarship – Joey Yanis (Minisink Valley)

2018 NYSPHSAA – Finals and Section 9 Placewinners


99D1: Stevo Poulin (S2) dec 7-1 Chase Liardi (S8)
99D2: Dante Geislinger (S4) dec 9-4 Devin Coleman (S3)

106D1: Terry Adams (C) dec 3-2 Jayden Scott (S5)
106D2: Anthony Noto (S5) dec 3-1 Jordan Titus (S11)

113D1: Greg Diakomihalis (S5)  dec 3-2 utb Dylan Ryder (S11)
113D2: Marek Bush (S3) dec 4-2 Chandler Merwin (S4)

120D1:  Zack Redding (S11) dec 9-5 Anthony Sciotto (S11)
120D2: Trent Svingala (S2) dec 3-2 Brady Worthing (S4)

126D1: Adam Busiello (S11) wbf 2:59 Justin McDougald (S6)
126D2: Orion Anderson (S2) wbf 1:33 Vin Miceli (S11)

132D1: Willie McDougald (S6) dec 3-2 2OT Justin Vines (S8)
132D2: Luke Bokina (S11) dec 2-1 Nick Young (S5)

138D1: Chris Gomez (S11) dec 11-9 Anthony Sobotker (S11)
138D2: Mike Zariff (S11) dec 6-4 utb Riley Gerber (S3)

145D1: Frankie Gissendanner (S5) dec7-6 Kiernan Shanahan (S2)
145D2: Jack Bokina (S11) dec 5-0 Hunter Shaut (S3)

152D1: Jacori Teemer (S8) dec 8-2 Matt Grippi (S1)
152D2: Dempsey Carroll (S3) dec 6-2 Jack Chesman (S1)

160D1: Jake Silverstein (S11) dec 9-2 Chris Barker (S5)
160D2: Bryce Rowe (S6) dec Jake Nolan (S7)

170D1:  Grant Cuomo (S1) dec 13-10 Tyler Barnes (S2)
170D2: Ross McFarland (S3) maj 8-0 Dillon Ross (S9)

182D1: Jake Logan (S1) dec 5-3 Jacob Ferriera (S1)
182D2: Connor Fredericks (S4) dec 3-2 Chance Lapier (S7)

195D1: Jonathan Loew (S8) wbf  1:14 Jhordyn Innocent
195D2: Doug Simmons (S3) dec 3-0 Corey Keefe (S6)

220D1: Elijah Rodriguez (S11) wbf 5:19 Halil Gecaj (S1)
220D2: Joe Benedict (S3) dec 3-1 Reggie Poulin (S2)

285D1: Deonte Wilson (S11) dec 5-1 Joey Slackman (S11)
285D2: Anthony Robinson (S6) dec 6-5 Jason Gomez (PSAL)

Section 9 Placewinners

2nd Place: Dillon Ross (Onteora, 170)
3rd Place: Marco Vespa (Monroe Woodbury, 120)
5th Place: Dylan Earl (Monroe Woodbury, 113)
5th Place: Jason Butler (Port Jervis, 182)
5th Place: Liam Dietrich (Red Hook, 285)
6th Place: Greg Fischer (NFA, 106)
6th Place: Ian Houck (Rondout Valley, 145)
6th Place: Maxx DeCapua (NFA, 195)
6th Place: Will Leonard (Cornwall, 220)


Day 2 From Albany – Semifinals and Blood Round

This is always the most exciting round of the tournament…semifinals on the center mats, blood round matches on the outer mats!!! Here we go!!


113D1:  Greg Diakomihalis (S5) wbf 1:37 Dylan Earl (MW)
170D2: Dillon Ross (Onteora) maj 12-0 Lagess Sawyer (S11)

Blood Round

106D1: Greg Fischer (NFA) maj 12-1 Jake Eckerle (S11)
113D2: Jake Bosco (A) dec 11-9 sv Eric Tigue (Port Jervis)
120D1: Marco Vespa (MW) dec 2-1 Logan Patterson (S3)
132D1: Chris Esposito (S11) wbf 3:31 Greiner (Minisink Valley)
145D1: Burgbacher (S11) dec 6-3 V. Vetrano (Minsink Valley)
145D2: Houck (Rondout Valley) dec 2-1 Swartz (S4)
182D1: Franzese (S11) dec 2-1 Yanis (Minisink Valley)
182D2: Butler (Port Jervis) maj 11-3 Silipo (S8)
195D1: DeCapua (NFA) dec 12-8 Walters (S6)
220D1: Leonard (Cornwall) dec 4-2 Koch (S2)
285D2: Dietrich (Red Hook) wbf 2:49 Criss (S7)