Friends of Section 9 Banquet of Champions

The Friends of Section 9 hosted their 17th Annual Banquet of Champions of Sunday at Kuhl’s Highland House in Middletown. Plaques were given out to the top 4 D1 and the top 2 D2 place winners from this year’s Section 9 Championship Tournaments.  Several special recognition awards were also handed out to honor those who have had exceptional seasons or have made special contributions to the sport of wrestling.  Let’s take a look at our special award winners…

Fan of the Year – Shawn Houck (Rondout Valley)
Parent of the Year – Cathi Greiner (Minisink Valley)
Modified Coach of the Year –  Tim Noteboom (Middletown)
FS9 Ref of the Year – Glen DeJong
Orange/Sullivan Officials Sportsmanship – Greg Fischer (NFA)
“Come-Back” of the Year – Luke Jones (Eldred)
FS9 Most Courageous – James Faison (Wallkill)
Scorekeeper of the Year – Ashland Hubbard (Wallkill)
Scorekeeper of the Year – Carlee Sherman (Pine Bush)
Scorekeeper of the Year – Amanda Bittles (NFA)
Special Recognition Award – Mia Macaluso (Minisink Valley)
Special Recognition Award – Grace Pauls (Minisink Valley)
FS9 Person of the Year – Fred Perna (Wallkill)
Most Improved Team of the Year – Port Jervis
Special Recognition Award – Curt Natalizio
Assistant Coach of the Year – John Foley (Port Jervis)
Assistant Coach of the Year – Corey Ferguson (Port Jervis)
FS9 Coach of the Year – Eric Hartmann (Port Jervis)
Special Recognition 500th Career Win – Don Blaine (Cornwall)
Frank Tschan Team of the Year – Minisink Valley
Mark Faller Coach of the Year – Kevin Gallagher (Minisink)
John Bell Lifetime Achievement – Lou Chartrand (Onteora)
Troy Bouzakis Wrestler of the Year – Dillon Ross (Onteora)
Pat D’Aliso Scholarship – Greg Fischer (NFA)
DeCapua Scholarship – Dillon Ross (Onteora)
DeCapua Scholarship – Greg Fischer (NFA)
DeCapua Scholarship – Dylan Earl (Monroe Woodbury)
DeCapua Scholarship – Ian Houck (Rondout Valley)
DeCapua Scholarship – Joey Yanis (Minisink Valley)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *