Askey & Ryder Win State Titles

NYS 152 D1 Champ Tommy Askey

Congratulations to Pine Bush senior Tommy Askey and Minisink Valley 8th grader Zack Ryder for being crowned 2020 NYSPHSAA Wrestling Champions! Askey was the champion at D1 152 while Ryder won gold at D1 126. Section 9 had 2 other finalists with Onteora junior taking second at D2 152 and Monroe Woodbury senior Joe McGinty grabbing silver at D1 160. Section 9 had a total of 13 place winner. Congratulations go out to Monroe Woodbury’s Jordan Brown (6th @ 99 D1), Warwick’s Alex Greco (8th @ 99 D1), Middletown’s Justin Morales (6th @ 106 D1), Washingtonville’s Andrew Marchese (5th @ 113 D1), Red Hook’s Matt Morris (8th @ 126 D2), Middletown’s Joe Velazquez (6th @ 170 D1), Minisink Valley’s Ethan Gallo (6th @ 182 D1), Port Jervis’ James Oosterom (3rd @ 220 D2), and Minisink Valley’s Adam Fenner (3rd @ 285 D1).

Tommy Askey wrapped up a dream season with an 8-5 win in the state finals over AJ Kovacs from Iona Prep. Kovacs was the 2019 state champ at 145 and is currently ranked #5 in the nation at 152 according to InterMat. The Pine Bush senior also defeated 3rd place finisher Dennis Robin and 6th place finisher Wenchard Pierre Louis on his way to the title. Askey finished the year a perfect 41-0 and also won the Eastern States Classic back in January. He finished 4th in NYS last year at 145. Congratulations to one of the hardest working wrestlers in Section 9!

NYS 126 D1 Champ Zack Ryder

Zack Ryder is only in 8th grade and he is already a 2X state finalist! Last year Ryder put NYS on notice when he pushed nationally ranked Stevo Poulin to the limit dropping a 4-3 decision in the 106 state finals. This year Ryder was not to be denied, The MV middle schooler capped of an incredible 47-3 season by pinning previously undefeated George Oroudjov in the finals. Ryder also defeated 3rd place finished Rocco Camillaci and 6th place finished Ivan Garcia on his way to the title at 126, arguably the toughest weight class in the tournament this year! Congrats Zack – the future is bright!

Tournament Notes:
Greg Diakomihalis was voted D1 MOW. Greg finished his high school career as a 5X state champion with an incredible 221-1 career record. His only loss was to Dylan Ryder in ESC finals. Anthony Noto, now a 4X state champion, was voted D2 MOW. Stevo Poulin was absolutely dominating in winning his 3rd state title.

4 thoughts on “Askey & Ryder Win State Titles”

  1. Absolutely stellar performances by Zach Ryder and Tommy Askey. both of whom were more deserving that Greg Diakomihalis to earn the MOW in my opinion. Greg D. certainly had a fantastic career, but the award is for the tournament, not a career. Askey, as you note, took down a state champ and the nation’s 5th ranked wrestler in the finals while Diakomihalis seemed flat in his finals win. By the way, the perfect 221-0 career mark by Diakomihalis, which I also heard announced last night, is not accurate; I saw him lose at the Eastern States Classic some years ago.

  2. I honestly thought PJ Duke deserved the MOW. He absolutely dominated everyone. Stevo also could have won but it’s become expected of him which is not to take away from his performance.

  3. Quick clean up on historical significance…PJ Duke is the 1st 7th grader to win a NYS title. Casey Lanave was 2nd in 2006 state finals, he lost to Wantagh’s Paul Liguori 9-5, interestingly Liguori beat Cody Ruggirello in the semis that year, then a 96lb weight class.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *