Gene Brigham Memorial Tournament Highlights the Weekend Action for Section 9 Teams

Gene Brigham Memorial Tournament @ Minisink Valley High School
Normally a “solid” tournament, this year’s Gene Brigham can better be described as “stacked”!!! The host team, Minisink Valley is the top-ranked team in the state according to New York Wrestling News and they are ranked in the top-50 in the nation according to both FloWrestling and MatScouts! Challenging the Warriors at this year’s Gene Brigham will be Section 2 powers Burnt Hills (#3 in NYS) and Shenendehowa (#4 in NYS). The other Section 9 teams in the field are Valley Central, Port Jervis, Pine Bush, Goshen, Liberty, Eldred, and Burke. Rounding out the field at this year’s Gene Brigham are Mahopac (Section 1), Yorktown (Section 1), Bellport (Section 11), New Hartford (Section 3), Yonkers (Section 1), and Oxford-Greene (Section 4). Let’s take a look at all of the New York Wrestling News state-ranked wrestlers who are registered at the Gene Brigham…there is at least one ranked kid at every weight and almost every weight has several!!!
102: #3 D1 Joe Tornambe (Yorktown), #7 D1 Luke Satriano (Valley Central), #11 D1 Joe Uhrig (Minisink Valley), HM D1 George Johnson (Mahopac)
110: #2 D2 Trevor Tufano (Port Jervis), #15 D1 Nick Weeden (Valley Central), HM D1 Tyler Whiteley (Burnt Hills)
118: #6 D1 Wyatt Gentzel (Bellport)
126: #13 D1 Liam Carlin (Burnt Hills), HM D1 Anthony Tresch (Minisink ValleyV), HM D1 Sebastian Vidacovich (Valley Central)
132: #6 @ 126 Gabe Goss (Burnt Hills), HM D1 @126 Bobby John (Bellport)
138: #4 D1 Jashon Holmes (Shenendehowa), #6 D1 @ 132 Colin Carlin (Burnt Hills), #11 D1 Tyler Rossini (Burnt Hills). #12 D1 @ 132 Troy Gentzel (Bellport)
145: #2 D1 Angelo Centrone (Mahopac), #8 D1 Josh Warland (Burnt Hills), #13 D2 Ryan Ross (Port Jervis), HM D1 Luke Greiner (Minisink Valley), HM D1 David Ensminger (Shenendehowa)
152: #6 D1 Eric Tigue (Minisink Valley)
160: #1 D1 Zack Ryder (Minisink Valley), HM D1 George Racz (Minisink Valley)
172: #1 D1 Mikey Altomer (Minisink Valley), #8 D1 Ryan Buthfer (Burnt Hills)
189: #2 D1 Andrew Filip (Minisink Valley), #14 Braydon Pennell (Pine Bush), HM D1 Max Winkler (Goshen)
215: #1 D1 Ethan Gallo (Minisink Valley), #9 D1 Jaiden Green (Bellport), #10 D2 Matthew Oosterom (Port Jervis)
285: #1 D1 Charles Tibbitts (New Hartford), #12 D1 Dominic Siracusa (Goshen)

Wallkill Duals
Host Wallkill, Middletown, Cornwall, and Chester will do battle at the 2022 Wallkill Duals!

King Bison @ Shaker High School
Newburgh Free Academy is the only Section 9 team that entered in the 28-team King Bison held at Shaker High School.

Dominick Kossman Memorial Duals
Onteora heads to the 6-team Dominick Kossman Memorial Duals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *