Several S9 Taking the Mat in Fargo for Junior Freestyle

138: Evan Barczak – Monroe Woodbury
Prelims: Evan Barczak TF over Wolfgang Clapper (MO) 10-0
R64: Sal Profaci (NJ) TF Evan Barczak 14-3
Consies: Evan Barczak TF over Auston Hall (SC) 11-0
Consies: Evan Barczak WBF over Tim Edmonson (TX) 5:45
Consies: B. O’Keefe (NV) WBF over Evan Barczak 1:53

182: Kendall Elfstrum – Monroe Woodbury
Prelims: bye
R64: Max Lyon (IA) dec Kendall Elfstrum 10-3
Consies: Kendall Elfstrum TF Tim Nichelson (ME) 12-2
Consies: Kyle Hostetter (MO) dec Kendall Elfstrum 14-10

195: Nick McShea – Monroe Woodbury
Prelims: bye
R64: Nick McShea TF Braden Zini (AZ) 24-13
R32: Nick McShea WBF over Jamir Moore (IA) 1:49

220: Aiden Mathews – Marlboro
Prelims: bye
R32: Ethan Anderson (IA) TF over Aiden Mathews 10-0
Consies: James Ford (OH) WBF over Aiden Mathews 1:29

Fargo Cadet Freestyle – Vespa and Noble Updates

106: Marco Vespa – Monroe Woodbury
Prelims: Dylan Drogemueller (MN) wbf over Marco Vespa 1:58
Consies: Xavier Rico (AZ) wbf over Marco Vespa 1:42

160: Nijee Noble – Kingston
Prelims: bye
Round of 64: Nijee Noble tech fall over Caleb Armijo (CO) 10-0
Round of 32: Nijee Noble dec Ritchie Heywood (Utah) 8-2
Round of 16: Max Wohlabaugh (Florida) tf Nijee Noble 10-0
Consies: Nijee Noble dec Jeff Skyrud (CA) 10-9
Consies: David Crawford )OH) dec Nijee Noble 4-2

S9 in Fargo: Noble Goes 3-2 Including an Incredible Throw in Cadet Greco

NobleFargoGrecoThrowCongrats to Kingston junior Nijee Noble for going 3-2 in a very tough 160 lb. bracket at the 2015 USAW Cadet Greco Roman Nationals in Fargo, ND. Noble bounced back from an opening round loss to semifinalist Victor Marcelli of Ohio with three impressive wins including a highlight reel throw against Philip Murphy from Minnesota (right).  Noble pinned Murphy in :29 – and that wasn’t his fastest pin of the day!  In the very next round, Nijee recorded a :17 pin against Michael Escobedo from Arizona!  Great job Nijee…freestyle starts in a few days so rest up!

Six S9 Wrestlers Making the Trip to Fargo

Best of luck to the 6 Section 9 wrestlers who are making the trip to Fargo to compete against the nation’s best at the 2015 Cadet and Junior Nationals! will post all of the results for our local competitors listed below!

Marco Vespa (MW)Cadet 106
Nijee Noble (Kingston) Cadet 160
Evan Barczak (MW) Junior 138
Kendall Elfstrum (MW) Junior 182
Nick McShea (MW) Junior 195
Aiden Mathews (Marlboro/Wyoming Seminary) Junior 220

Photos from Gene Mills Pin 2 Win Camp in Middletown

Renzo Gracie MMA Academy in Middletown was the host for Gene Mills Pin 2 Win Camp from Sunday through Tuesday.  It isn’t every day that you get the opportunity to learn from a 2X NCAA champion and 1980 Olympian!  Assisting Mills with the camp was Ron Jones.  “Jonesie” is a 2X All American and the former wrestling coach at Rutgers; he is, without question, one of the people who is most responsible for Mills success as a competitor.  Coach Jones currently serves as the wresting instructor at Renzo Gracie right here in Middletown!

Always pay attention when Gene Mills is giving a lesson.....
Always pay attention when Gene Mills is giving a lesson…..
...and always make sure that you stretch well beforehand!!!!
…and always make sure that you stretch well beforehand!!!!
Campers getting autographs from Mills, the 1980 Olympic Athlete of the Year
Campers getting autographs from Mills, the 1980 Olympic Athlete of the Year

Push Ups For A Cause

Wrestling Community Pulls Together To Support Coach Fischbein

This past Saturday Hydra Strength Training in Monroe held a special event, Push Ups For A Cause, to raise funds to help the Fischbein family.  Former MW head wrestling coach Steve Fischbein, who now serves as a program assistant, is battling a rare form of cancer.  The specialized treatment is creating a financial burden on the family so, as it always does, the wrestling community is stepping up and helping out!

Thank you very much to Hydra Strength Training for hosting the event which was attended by over one hundred people.  Below are a few pictures from the event.  Special thanks to Lisa Elfstrum for providing many of the below pictures.

MW Team
Monroe Woodbury wrestling team with Coach Fischbein
Coach Blaine and Coach Fischbein
Coach Blaine and Coach Fischbein
Hydra Strength Training team with Steve and Jodi Fischbein
Hydra Strength Training team with Steve and Jodi Fischbein
Coach Fischbein with fellow cancer survivor Anthony Scancarello
Coach Fischbein with fellow cancer survivor Anthony Scancarello

MV Coaches Gallagher and Hendershot Receive Honors

Gallagher HendershotCongratulations to Minisink Valley wrestling coaches Kevin Gallagher and Scott Hendershot for being recognized by the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) as NYS Head Coach and Assistant Coach of the Year. Minisink Valley was the #1 ranked team in NYS this season. Gallagher was also selected as the Region 1 Head Wrestling Coach of the Year. The NWCA separates the entire country into 8 regions, Region 1 consists of NY, CT, RI, NH, VT, and ME. Congratulations Coach Gallagher and Coach Hendershot. Very well deserved recognition!

Full article on InterMat Wrestling




S9sitelogoFS9 WRESTLING CLUB announces the “FEATURE NIGHT” of the week. Beginning 6/15 the club will designate one night each week as the “FEATURE NIGHT”. If you only plan on attending once a week, try to come on that night. The idea is to always have one night per week when everyone is there and you are guaranteed a good crowd. … and this way when you are at Feature Night you can make plans with the other wrestlers what other nights you may be attending that week. Feature Nights will rotate each week as follows: Mon 6/15, Tues 6/23, Wed 7/1, Thurs 7/9, Mon 7/13, Tues 7/21, Wed 7/29 etc. These nights will be highlighted on the club calendar on the wall. Please get the word out. New members always welcome. Club meets 6-7:30 Mon thru Thurs at 688 Rt 17 K Montgomery. Current roster is shown in the 6/3 post on the FS9 Wrestling Club Facebook page.